The Laurent Mignard Duke Orchestra clearly demonstrates France’s influence on Ellington.

24 tracks, of which 15 were previously unreleased including 2 in the Goutelas suite, 3 from the “Paris Blues” soundtrack which were edited out at the time, and the entire show from “Turcaret” at the Jean Vilar Theater.

This album has been given overwhelming support by the press and the public as well. The live recording in concert gives witness to the audience’s fervor for not only the substance but the spirit of the evening.


1. The Good Life (La Belle Vie) (Jack Reardon / Sacha Distel) 3’14
2. Goof (Goutelas Suite) (Duke Ellington) 3’16
3. Gogo (Goutelas Suite) (Duke Ellington) 9’04
4. Gigi (Goutelas Suite) (Duke Ellington) 5’01
5. Paris Blues (Paris Blues Movie) (Duke Ellington) 4’58
6. Battle Royal (Paris Blues Movie) (Duke Ellington) 5’16
7. Paris Blues | Alternate Bed (Paris Blues Movie) (Duke Ellington) 3’18
8. Automnal Suite (Paris Blues Movie) (Duke Ellington) 5’06
9. Under Paris Skies (Sous le ciel de Paris) (Jean Dréjac / Hubert Giraud) 2’48
10. No Regrets (Non, je ne regrette rien) (Michel Vaucaire / Charles Dumont) 2’25
11. Daily Double (Duke Ellington) 3’33
12. Comme ci, Comme ça (Clopin-clopant) (Pierre Dudan / Bruno Coquatrix)
13. A Midnight in Paris (Billy Strayhorn) 3’53
14. The Old Circus Train (Duke Ellington) 5’21

TURCARET pour le Théâtre National Populaire Jean Vilar
15. Annonce (Band Call) & Ouverture (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 2’49
16. Turcaret court (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 0’16
17. Flamant (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 0’43
18. La baronne (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 1’32
19. Madame Turcaret (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 0’30
20. Chevalier (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 0’26
21. Frontin (Duke Ellington) 1’51
22. La Colère de Turcaret (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 0’39
23. Lisette (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 2’30
24. Final (Duke Ellington / Billy Strayhorn) 1’14

Didier Desbois (as,cl)
Aurélie Tropez (as,cl)
Fred Couderc (ts, fl)
Nicolas Montier (ts)
Philippe Chagne (bs)
Franck Delpeut (tp)
Franck Guicherd (tp)
François Biensan (tp,flg)
Richard Blanchet (tp)
Jean-Louis Damant (tb)
Fidel Fourneyron (tb)
Guy Arbion (btb)
Philippe Milanta (p)
Bruno Rousselet (b)
Julie Saury (dm)
Laurent Mignard (dir)

Artistic direction : Laurent Mignard
Live recorded by Bruno Minisini
Mixed by Bruno Minisini & Vincent Cordelette | Studio Cordiboy
Mastered HD by François Terrazzoni | Studio Parelies
Photographies by Pascal Bouclier
Design by Alexandre Pichon

Production : Juste une Trace
With support : SCPP | ADAMI | IMM | L’Agence Musicale | La Maison du Duke
Release date : 27-02-2012